How to share purchased PRO through the Family Sharing?


Apple added support for "Share In-app purchases with Family" to the Family Sharing in late 2020, and Sorted³ has also provided Family Sharing support for all PRO items from December 2020. From now on, you can easily share the PRO you purchased with members of the same iCloud family, or share the PRO purchased by a member of the iCloud family.

Set up Family Sharing

We use iPhone, iPad or iPod touch as an example to show you how to set up Family Sharing. You can also click here to learn how to set up Family Sharing on your Mac and other related information.

The Apple ID for setting up Family Sharing

You must use the Apple ID you used to purchase Sorted³ for PRO to set up Family Sharing, otherwise you won’t be able to share PRO. You can find the receipt sent by Apple for you in your mailbox and check the Apple ID.

Start a family group

One adult in the family — the family organizer — can set up Family Sharing for the group from their iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac. If you turn on purchase sharing, you'll be asked to confirm that you agree to pay for purchases initiated by the family members you invite and that you have a valid payment method on file. Valid payment methods for setting up Family Sharing include credit cards and debit cards.

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap your name.
  3. Tap Family Sharing, then tap Set Up Your Family.
  4. Follow the onscreen instructions to set up your family and invite your family members.

Invite people to join your family

If you haven't already, you can create an Apple ID for a child and add them to your group. If your family member already has an Apple ID, use the steps below to add someone to your family group. You can be a part of only one family at a time.

If your family member is with you, they can enter their Apple ID password on your device to accept the invitation. You can also send them an invitation, and they can accept from their device. Please:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap your name, then tap Family Sharing.
  3. Tap Add Member.
  4. Enter your family member's name or email address and follow the onscreen instructions.
  5. Choose whether you’d like to send an invitation via Messages or to invite them in person. Then follow the onscreen instructions.

Join a family group

Accept or decline an invitation to join a family directly from your device. You'll get an invitation sent to you by email or in a text message. Then you can respond right from the invitation. If you miss the email or text invitation, no problem. You can respond from your device Settings or System Preferences.

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap your name.
  3. Then tap Invitations.

To accept an invitation, follow the onscreen instructions. When you join a family, you might be asked to confirm your account information and to opt-in to any features or services your family set up.

Share purchases with family

Take for example on iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. After setting up Family Sharing, please follow the steps below to turn on and allow sharing of purchased items with your family:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap your name at the top, then tap Family Sharing.
  3. Tap "Purchase Sharing", then turn on "Share Purchases with Family".

Please note that family members who accept sharing PRO also need to follow the steps above.

Shared payment method

Your family members need to share the same payment method as you before they can share your purchased PRO on their devices. Take for example on iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, please follow the steps below to confirm both you and your family members:

  1. Go to the Settings.
  2. Tap your name at the top, then tap Family Sharing.
  3. Tap "Purchase Sharing", and then confirm the method of "Shared Payment Method".

Unhide Sorted³

If you have hidden Sorted³, it will not appear in the list of purchases in the App Store, and your family members will not be able to download through sharing or share the PRO you purchased. Take for example on iPhone, iPad or iPod touch, please follow the steps below to unhide Sorted³:

  1. Go to App Store and tap your avatar in the top right corner.
  2. Tap your name.
  3. Tap "Hidden Purchases" on the "Account Settings" page.
  4. Confirm in the list to unhide Sorted³.

Your family member unlocks PRO

You purchased PRO after January 2021

After downloading Sorted³, your family members can usually see the status of unlocked PRO directly in the settings of Sorted³.

You purchased PRO before January 2021

After downloading Sorted³, your family members need to follow the steps of “Settings-Get PRO” in Sorted³ and tap “Restore Purchase” to unlock PRO. After a few seconds or more than ten seconds, usually your family members can unlock PRO.

If your family member cannot successfully share your purchased PRO

Please follow the points below to check and get suggestions:

Contact us

If you and your family members have checked and confirmed according to the above points, your family members still cannot share the PRO you purchased, please follow the steps of "Settings-Contact Us" in Sorted³ to email us and provide the following information:

  1. Screenshots of the correct settings according to points 1-5
  2. The diagnostic files of the devices of you and your family members (by following the steps of "Settings-Export Diagnostic Report" in Sorted³ to get)
  3. The receipt of your purchase of PRO (find in the mailbox bound to the Apple ID used for the purchase)


Published date: 2021.12.10